Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is built around four main principles. These are:-    

A Unique Child  

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.   

Positive Relationships  

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments  

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning. 

 Learning and Development   

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.    


Learning and Development is broken down into seven areas.        

 Three Prime Areas  

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development 

These areas are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all areas. 

Four Specific Areas  

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design  

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through the specific areas of learning. 



Files to Download

School Games Silver Award 2017-2018
Read Write inc We Are a Model School
Healthy School Logo
Basic Skills Agency Quality Mark
Positive Footprints Network: Raising Aspirations
Positive Footprints Network: Futures